繪畫理念

 

無論我畫的是肖像、風景或靜物,我致力於傳達寫實畫之美。 寫實並非忠實精確地複製每一個細節。反之,我希望透過構圖、氛圍、選擇性的細節和筆法,來傳達一種藝術的現實。我遵循十九世紀的寫實傳統,盡可能寫生而不使用照片。我試圖表現出每一個所選主題的美,呈現給觀者栩栩如生的形像。這種形像的美並非來自完美無暇,而是來自其特有、獨一的現實。

我對肖像畫和創作畫情有獨鍾。我的創作畫兼有當代和歷史性的主題。當代主題的創作畫使我能更敏銳地觀察、洞悉周遭的人和社會議題。歷史性的創作畫激使我更深刻地理解主人翁在特定時刻、特殊情境中的心理狀態。我的創作畫常帶著些許憂鬱。悲劇人物和他們的人生故事深深打動我;他們促使我探索他們內心的舞台、他們的悲哀、掙扎和情緒。他們的心態和表情令我著迷,也引起觀者好奇。

創作畫的第一步是靈感。場景和故事逐漸在腦中成形。我會廣泛地蒐集資料、把構想速寫下來、在畫布上設計創作、最後才在上面畫。我的研究會讓畫更真實、更有說服力,那包含田野調查、歷史及文物的研究、和聘請模特兒照構圖中的人物擺姿勢核對。過程可能歷時數年之久。

對我來說,繪畫是一種樂趣。也是對美學成就無止境的追求。我的繪畫和教學生涯綿亙五十載,而我不斷實驗新的手法來表現寫實主義的藝術。每當我有新的發現,就會興高采烈。透過繪畫,我努力將美的畫面流傳給後世。

 

 

畫家生平

 

看著和藹、優雅、慈祥的冉茂芹(1942年生)在他的雙橋畫室或教學影片中愉快地和學生互動,很難想像他曾在中國文化大革命期間,因所屬階級而遭致公開譴責和毒打。他的許多作品並未熬過那個年代的混亂,顯然,他有不少朋友和夥伴也未能倖免於難。那不是適合研究藝術這種「資產」領域的年代,因為藝術既和西方世界的文化帝國主義,也和中國特權階級剝削的墮落行徑息息相關。就算冉茂芹的創造力在一九六○年代及七○年代初期遭遇阻礙,甚至被強迫為工人運動和政治利益服務,但他仍在繪畫中找到避難的聖殿,一如現在。確實,歷史的瘋狂錯亂可能使我們更熱愛藝術、更珍惜它的純粹。

所幸,冉茂芹總算熬過混亂的年代;若真要說,他的天賦似乎淬煉得更強大,因為他必須適應政治變遷的狂風驟雨,在共產中國的諸多限制和天馬行空的官僚政治中走一條非常狹窄的「成功」途徑。他在投影片畫微小的毛主席畫像、為宣傳話劇設計舞台背景,沉潛十五年後,終能在北京和廣州的大型畫展展出〈送戲上船〉(1975)和〈戰士之歌〉等得獎之作。

後來冉茂芹移居香港,又於一九八○年代來到台灣,但中華人民共和國的影響仍彰顯於他的風格中,那流露著俄羅斯和蘇維埃現實主義:對細節和技法的悉心關注。不過,在此同時,他的肖像畫中也蘊含著一種對眾生和人文精神的感性,讓人聯想到印象派而超越表現手法。那是一種努力藉由形式表現靈魂的現實主義,而為達此目的,他無懼於運用較厚重的筆觸或質感,或實驗他所謂的「色彩語言。」冉茂芹用出奇微妙的方式,從油畫顏料中喚出不朽的生命,也用炭筆、鉛筆或手上任何物品讓亡者復活。這是貫穿他所有作品的美與魅,一如著名的〈燈下的女人〉(2002)和〈銅手鐲〉(2001)所展現;這兩幅畫都是國際繪畫競賽的優勝。關於這點,簡單的「深度」二字或許就是最好的形容:在匆匆一瞥,或看似最細微的構圖要素中,都蘊含著極深的內涵、極大的力量等待發掘。冉茂芹筆下有那麼多人物都擁有神祕的寧靜和溫和的自信、神似畫家本人,看來不是巧合。

冉茂芹生涯最大的轉捩點出現在1987年,在台北阿波羅畫廊進行的直接寫生示範。這獲得相當多媒體報導和廣大好評,吸引台灣社會許多重要人物的關注,包括當時的副總統李登輝和作家及史學家李敖──台灣頂尖公共知識分子和政治評論員。阿波羅示範教學帶來的成就不僅為冉茂芹開啟畫家之門,也開啟作家和藝術教育家之路,包括在自己的畫室教學,以及赴台灣和中國大陸的大學擔任客座教授。冉茂芹的〈孫中山〉像懸掛在台北的國父紀念館,這是相當罕見的榮譽,或許也是台灣藝術家所能獲得最高的殊榮。

如他的生平事蹟所呈現,冉茂芹的一生飽嚐戲劇性,而那種經驗和洞察力也表現在他的大型創作畫上。那些作品尤以中國和台灣歷史的重大事件為藍本,規模宏大,通常要花數年完成。他在敘事方面鍾愛開拓者(例如〈西域殘陽〉裡的佛僧玄奘或多幅畫作中的喬治‧萊斯里‧馬偕﹝George Leslie Mackay﹞)、改革者(如〈光緒與珍妃〉)和流亡的同胞(如〈海峽夜浪〉和〈抵岸〉等史詩之作),常捕捉張力最高的時刻。〈女媧補天〉等較超現實的神話作品也具有這種特色。但冉茂芹同樣擅長在當代場景中傳達日常

但冉茂芹同樣擅長在當代場景中傳達日常愛情的戲劇性緊張,以及在簡單、平凡的時刻找到的莊嚴,例如〈熱玉米〉、〈西城夜樂〉和〈分手〉。

過去三十年,冉茂芹也讓世界成為他的題材,足跡踏遍歐洲、北美和亞洲。這造就了相當豐富的肖像畫和一系列讓他聲名大噪的風景寫生。前方還有更多旅行、更多大陸在等待,而當冉茂芹探索新的地方、遇見新的人,他的畫具箱和畫筆永遠在手上。

現在,升格為祖父的冉茂芹帶著非比尋常的活力和創造能量進入暮年,積極創作新的油畫和素描、書籍、DVD等等,繼續影響全球學生和藝術愛好者的人生。他的回憶錄《冉茂芹:藝術與人生》將在2017年由廣西美術出版社出版。

Royce Grubic, Red Savina Review

2016年12月

 

Teaching in Twin Bridge Studio in Taipei
Visiting Repin Academy of Arts St. Petersburg Russia 2001
Portraiting painting of Li Ao Taipei 2002
Plein air painting in Tibet 1997
Plein air painting in Nice France 1993
Plein air painting in Kyoto Japan 2003
Plein air painting in Alps France 1993
Former Taiwan president Lee Tung-Hui visiting solo exhibition in Taipei 1987

Thank you for visiting. Leave us a message.

_________________________ About - Yim Maukun

ARTIST STATEMENT

I strive to convey the realistic beauty of form. This realism, whether I’m working in portrait, landscape or still life, is not defined by faithfully duplicating every detail. Rather, I render an artistic reality through composition, ambiance, selective details and brush strokes.  I adhere to the 19th century Realism tradition, and paint from life as much as possible without using photos.  I seek to represent the aesthetics of each chosen subject and present the audience with a vivid image.  The beauty of the images arises not from perfection, but from an individual and unique reality.

I am particularly interested in portrait painting and narrative painting. My narrative paintings have both contemporary and historic themes.  Narrative paintings on contemporary subjects sharpen my observation and understanding of the people and social themes around me.  Historic paintings challenge me to have a deeper understanding of the subject’s psychological profile in a particular situation at a specific moment in time. My narrative paintings often have a tinge of melancholy.  Tragic characters and their life stories move me; they motivate me to explore their inner stage, their sorrows, struggles and emotions.  Gestures and facial expressions captivate me and intrigue the audience.

The process begins with inspiration; the scene and story unfold in my imagination. I conduct extensive research, then sketch ideas, create the study on canvas and finally paint on canvas.  My research makes the painting more authentic and convincing, and includes field trips, the study of history and artifacts, and hiring models to pose as characters in the composition.  This process can take years.

Painting to me is an enjoyment.  It is also endless pursuit of artistic achievement. My painting and teaching career has spanned five decades, and I’m continuously experimenting with new ways of expression and approaches for realistic art. I am elated when I make a new discovery.  Through painting, I strive to leave a legacy of artistic images.

 

ARTIST BIO

Watching the good-natured, graceful, and fatherly Yim Maukun (b. 1942) in his Twin Bridge art studio happily interacting with his students or in one of his instructional videos, it is hard to imagine that this is the same man who was publicly denounced and so viciously beaten for his class affiliations during the Cultural Revolution in China.  Many of his works did not survive the chaos of those years, and obviously not all of his friends and associates did either.  It was not a congenial time to be a student of such “bourgeois” fields as the fine arts, so closely associated with the cultural imperialism of the Western world on one hand and the exploitative decadence of the Chinese aristocracy on the other. Even though Yim’s creativity may have been stunted in the 1960s and early 1970s and forcibly directed to serve the worker’s movement and the political interests of the state. He nevertheless found a sanctuary in painting then as he does now.  It is true that the insanity of history can make us embrace art and cherish its purity all the more.

Thankfully, Yim managed to endure that tumultuous period; if anything, his talent even seemed to grow stronger for it, compelled as he was to adapt to the harsh winds of political change and to navigate a very narrow path to “success” in communist China, with all its governmental restrictions and bureaucratic vagaries.  He went from laboriously painting tiny portraits of Chairman Mao on photographic slides and creating backdrop scenery for regional propagandistic theater productions for the better part of fifteen years to showing prize-winning pieces like The Troupe Going Aboard (1975) and Warrior Song (1978) at major exhibitions in Beijing and Guangzhou.

Yim Maukun eventually would emigrate to Hong Kong and then Taiwan in the 1980s, but the influence of the PRC does remain evident in his style, so informed by Russian and Soviet Realism, with its careful attention to detail and technique. At the same time, however, in his portrait there is a sensitivity to the human face and the spirit within that also evokes Impressionism and transcends the medium itself.  It is a realism that strives to express the soul within the form, and for that purpose is not afraid of using thicker brush strokes or textures, or experimenting with what he calls “the language of colors.”  In amazingly subtle ways, Yim conjures immortal life out of those oils and somehow raises the dead with charcoal and pencil or whatever is at hand.  There is beauty and intrigue throughout his work, as shown in the remarkable Lady in Shimmering Light (2002) and Girl with Bronze Bracelet (2001), both winners of international portrait competitions.  The best word for it, perhaps, is simply depth: in the slightest glance or apparently most minor element of one of his compositions, there is simply so much depth and power to be discovered.  It does not seem to be a coincidence that so many of Yim’s subjects possess a rather mysterious serenity and gentle confidence, much like the artist himself.

A major turning point in Yim’s career came in 1987 with a plein air portrait demonstration at the Apollo Gallery in Taipei.  This received substantial media coverage and wide acclaim, drawing the attention (and quickly soon after the patronage) of many prominent figures of Taiwanese society, including then Vice President Lee Teng Hui and the writer/historian Li Ao, one of Taiwan’s foremost public intellectuals and political commentators.  The success that followed the Apollo demonstration opened doors for Yim not just as a painter but also as an author and art educator, both as a teacher at his own studio and in visiting instructor positions at universities in Taiwan and mainland China. Accordingly, Yim’s portrait of Sun Yat-sen hangs in Sun Yat-sen Memorial Hall in Taipei, a rare national honor and perhaps the highest distinction a Taiwanese artist could receive.

As his life story suggests, Yim is no stranger to drama, and that experience and perspective informs his grand narrative works. These are based particularly on poignant episodes from Chinese and Taiwanese history, and are large in scale, often taking several years to complete.  As a narrative artist, he favors stories of trailblazers (such as the Buddhist monk Xuanzheng in Sunset in the West or the missionary George Leslie Mackay in multiple paintings), reformers (e.g., Emperor Guangxu and Consort Zhen) and fellow émigrés (as in the epic Crossing the Stormy Strait and Reaching Shore), often captured in moments of the highest possible tension.  More surrealist mythological pieces like Nuwa have this quality as well.  But Yim is equally adept at conveying in contemporary scenes the dramatic tension of everyday romance and the gravity to be found in simple, ordinary moments as in Hot Corn, Westside Evening, and Breaking Up.

Over the last three decades Yim Maukun has also made the world his subject, traveling extensively throughout Europe, North America, and Asia.  This has resulted in a wealth of portraits as well as a series of plein air landscape paintings for which he has gained renown.  More travels and continents await, as Yim explores new places and meets new people, his paint-box and brushes always in hand.

Now a grandfather, Yim has entered his sunset years with uncommon vigor and creative energy, actively producing new paintings and drawings, books, video lessons, and more, while continuing to impact the lives of students and art lovers everywhere. His memoir, Yim Mau-Kun, The Art and The Life, will be published by Guangxi Fine Arts Press in 2017.

Royce Grubic, Red Savina Review

December 2016

Thank you for visiting. Leave us a message.